fotos ~ kai
about this website (photos)

I see this site as kind of a visual diary. It's not complete (which it could and should never be), it's not chronological. That would be boring. Very selectively, I give some visual impressions here and there, all that I find could be worth seeing. So much for the philosophy, the rest is technical.

  technical stuff
back to top

The Website is written in PHP and accesses a mySQL Database.
PHP is a programming language, especially developed for web applications. PHP in combination with mySQL allows me to add and modify projects and texts to the website without writing a single line of HTML and thus without needing FTP access to upload the files. All changes are made in an administration interface and, once submitted, appear on the website without delay. The effort to write a website in PHP is high. However, once the site has reached a certain size, the effort is rewarded. And if one wants to constantly add content to the site, PHP/mySQL is indispensable.

One of the main reasons for which I have chosen PHP for this Website is the seamless integration of image processing in PHP. All thumbnail-images are created by PHP once the image is accessed for the first time. It is then saved on the main server (on which the script is being executed) and can thus be accessed very fast the next time they are needed.
The pictures can be distributed on different servers. Only the thumbnails are saved on a central server. That balances the amount of traffic between different providers (most of the pictures are being loaded from www.konzeptrezept.de, since I pay for much traffic on this domain).

Furthermore it is possible to create bilingual pages with only one code. I do not have to create two different sets of pages. If I haven't translated a text yet, the German version is automatically displayed.

On the welcome page of the photo database and on each picture page, Javascript is (if activated) used for the slideshow. I use AJAX (Asynchronous Javascript and XML) to load the next image without actually regenerating (and thus reloading) the whole page. This also enables me to blend the images (supported by Internet Explorer, Firefox and maybe Safari (?), not by Opera). (If Javascript is disabled in the browser, slideshows are supported by delayed page reloads.) The entire site can be browsed and viewed without any disadvantages (apart from the just mentioned) without Javascript.

  browser recommendations
back to top

This Site has been optimised and written for Mozilla and Firefox. Opera is good, too. It does not support transparency, though, and the slideshow is thus rendered without these smooth image transitions. MS Internet Explorer is to avoid, but even here, the Site runs stable and without any major display problems. In case of any problems, please report via "contact". However, the Site has been thorougly tested (for Mozilla 1.7, Firefox 3.0.1, Opera 9.5 and MS IE 7).
Apparently, the site also displays on Mac computers (heard from Mac-Firefox and Safari), please write me if experienced otherwise.

  disclaimer
back to top

I do not have any influence on the content of the third party internet webpages I link to. Therefore, I herewith refuse to take any responsibility for the contents of any document I link to. This statement shall apply to all links made from any of my pages.
project created: 17.04.2004
last modified: 25.12.2004
All images © by Kai Kasugai (unless other source stated)
page generated in 0.06s

fotos ~ kai
Über diese Website (Fotos)

Ich verstehe diese Site als eine Art visuelles Tagebuch. Nicht allumfassend, nicht chronologisch. Sehr selektiv stelle ich über diese Plattform Fotos ins Netz, die ich für interessant halte. Soviel zur Philosophie der Site, nun zum trocken Technischen und Rechtlichen.


Die Website ist in PHP geschrieben und greift auf eine mySQL Datenbank zu.
PHP ist eine Programmiersprache, die speziel für Webanwendungen entwickelt wurde. PHP in Kombination mit mySQL ermöglicht es mir, neue Projekte und Texte der Website hinzuzufügen und zu ändern, ohne daß ich auch nur eine Zeile HTML schreiben muss. Alle Änderungen werden also auf einem Webinterface vorgenommen und erscheinen ohne verzögerung auf der Website. Der Aufwand, die Website in PHP zu schreiben ist sehr hoch. Sobald man aber eine Website öfters aktualisieren möchte und die Site eine gewisse Größe erreicht, rentiert sich dieser Aufwand jedoch.

Einer der Gründe, warum ich mich für PHP entschieden habe, ist auch die gute Integration von Bildverarbeitung in PHP. Alle Thumbnails (Vorschaubilder) werden also beim ersten Aufruf des Bildes von PHP erstellt und auf dem ausführenden Server gespeichert (sodaß sie beim nächsten Aufruf sehr schnell verfügbar sind).
Die Bilder können somit auf sehr vielen verschiedenen Servern gespeichert werden. Nur die Thumbnails werden auf einem zentralen Server gespeichert. Das ballanciert den Datenumsatz zwischen verschiedenen Providern (die meisten Bilder rufe ich von www.konzeptrezept.de ab, da mir hier genügend Traffic zur Verfügung steht).

Außerdem ist es möglich, mit nur einem Code zwei- und mehrsprachige Seiten zu erstellen. Ich muss also nicht alle Seiten doppelt schreiben. Falls ich einen Text nicht übersetzt habe, wird automatisch der deutsche Text ausgelesen.

Auf der Startseite (der Photodatenbank) und auf jeder Bildseite wird, falls aktiv, Javascript verwendet. Ansonsten kommt diese Site ohne Javascript aus. Für Slideshows benutze ich das Programmier-Konzept AJAX (kurz für Asynchronous Javascript and XML) um das nächste Bild zu laden, ohne die gesamte Seite neu aufzubauen. (Falls Javascript ausgeschaltet ist, funktioniert trotzdem die Slideshow, allerdings muss dann für jedes Bild die Seite neu geladen werden.) Die komplette Site kann fehlerfrei ohne Javascript angezeigt werden.

  Browser Empfehlungen
zum Seitenanfang

Als Browser wird Mozilla oder Firefox empfohlen. Auch Opera läuft gut, unterstützt jedoch keine Transparenz, die Slideshow wird also ohne Überblendungen dargestellt. Vom MS Internet Explorer wird abgeraten, aber die Seite läuft auch da stabil und ohne große Abweichungen. Falls trotz ausgiebigen Tests Fehler auftreten, bitte unter Kontakt melden. Es wurde für Mozilla 1.7, Firefox 3.0.1, Opera 9.5 und MS IE 7 getestet.
Zwar kann ich nicht auf Mac testen, sie scheint aber auch auf Macs Firefox und Safari zu laufen.

  Haftungsausschluß
zum Seitenanfang

Mit Urteil vom 12. Mai 1998 - 312 O 85/98 - "Haftung für Links" hat das Landgericht (LG) Hamburg entschieden, dass man durch die Anbringung eines Links die Inhalte der gelinkten Seite ggf. mit zu verantworten hat. Dies kann - so das LG - nur dadurch verhindert werden, dass man sich ausdrücklich von diesen Inhalten distanziert.
Ich weise also hiermit darauf hin, daß ich keinen Einfluss auf die Inhalte der gelinkten Seiten habe. Daher distanziere ich mich hiermit vom Inhalt aller Seiten, auf die ich von dieser Website mit links verweise.
Projekt erstellt: 17.04.2004
zuletzt bearbeitet: 25.12.2004
Alle Abbildungen © Kai Kasugai (ausser andere Quellenangabe)
Seitenaufbau in 0.06s